The Hurran Trial - 11th Jan 09

Intro by: Tom Welch - CoC.

Here is the Hurran Trial Full Entry List.

Provisional Results are here [on: 11Jan09 23:15]

Some photos are already up though. Have a look at Steve Workman's gallery

Ben's Press Report

A GRAND fixture in West Country trials made a welcome return after the first break in more than 50 years last year.

Gloucester & Cotswold MC's Hurran Trial was cancelled in 2007 due to appalling weather conditions and recent icy conditions looked sure to make the first round of the Western Centre Trials Championship a tough event.

As it turned out, the weather took a turn for the better at Ebworth but the course still presented a big challenge, over two laps of 21 sections.

The rider most up to that challenge was reigning centre champion Simon Welch, who picked up the Hurran Trophy for the first time.

The trophy and the name of the trial owes its origins to Barton Street, Gloucester florist Alfred Hurran. It was first run in 1946 and this was the first time Welch's name will appear on the trophy, alongside the sport's greats such as Sammy Miller, Steve Saunders and John Draper.

Finishing 26 marks ahead of Shaun Fox, the difference proved to be the number of cleans - seven more - as Fox lost only one more five mark maximum.

Experienced hand John Cowley put together a consistent ride to lose only three more marks than Fox, and six less than world number two lady, Becky Cook. Undoubtedly the toughest section of the day was in the old quarry, where only 13 attempts at section 14 were recorded as rides better than a five mark loss.

While Cowley almost cracked it, Welch managed a three on lap two of the expert route.

In the clubman/expert class, Tony Cowley registered a clean and a three on this section, while Ashley Reed (two and one) finished a total of four marks behind. Best intermediate Ben Bishop beat Ben Toms by 12 marks - Bishop's full throttle approach was ideally suited to the super slick going.

Current British trailbike trials champion, Julian Page finished ten marks behind his riding mate Reed, to come fourth.

On the clubman route, the result was decided by the number of cleans. Tim Wheeler and R Norris both lost 29 but Wheeler recorded one more clean ride. Reigning Clubman class champion Glyn Smith made a good start to his title defence, not far behind the leading too, as was Martyn Willmore and former centre champion Nigel Tomkins. Ben Willmore's four stroke Sherco showed impressive traction which he put to good effect as take best novice.


Observers and Sections List

Printable Section List

Section Group name Observers
1 The Wall Theresa Talbot
2+3 Fist full Eddie Hinckley
Mr Hassall Snr
4 Tims Top Terry Webb
5+6 Tims Bottom Steve Fox
Rachel Clarke
7 Bomb hole Becky Dodds (Reserve)
8+9 The Firs Dave Brown
Keith Podesta
10+11 Lake North Shane Hillman
John Lewis
12-15 The Quarry Tim Rochfort,
Brian Bridson,
Ben Falconer,
M Jurgens
16 “Go for it" graded hill Bill Andrews
17 Car climb plus Julian Bishop
18-19 Fostons Mike Parry
Janet Lester
20 Lake South Mr Fogg
Mr Fortune