Ledbury Flyer Grasstrack

Report: Ben Falconer

ledbury A BUMPER crowd was treated to a spectacular afternoon's racing at Ledbury MCC's new grasstrack venue.

More than 20 1000cc sidecar crews battled it out at close quarters over the 500 metre track, with four time British champions Mark Cossar/Carl Blyth going undefeated all day to head Myles/Simmons/Kevin Woodley and Colin Blackbourn/Carl Pugh.

In the 500cc class, Chipping Campden rider Tim Nobes was in a class of his own until a mechanical breakdown forced him out. It left the way open for Ben Millichap and Josh Dingle to battle it out for the win, though such was Nobes' points accumulation in earlier legs that he still finished fourth.

The closest racing was in the 350cc class where Andy Mellish and Dave Mears took a pair of wins each. Leg one saw them swapping the lead several times in a perfect exhibition of close, high speed riding which lacked nothing in sportsmanship.

Luke Harris took the 250cc win in a class which was hit by a heavy fall from Ben Ilsley. The Cheshire rider appeared to high side over his bike on the pits turn, and then be struck by his own machine.

ledburyRiders with strong centre connections topped the unlimited upright class, with Rob Fortune heading Gerald Short and Roger Taylor. Victorious manager of the British longtrack team, Mitch Godden, never looked like being beaten in the 500cc sidecar class.

Ledbury MCC deserve all the plaudits they get for running a superb meeting with most classes very well supported. They made the most of the field, fitting in as much track and room for spectators as they could. It made for great viewing of high speed action. Everyone in the Western Centre will wish Ben Ilsley well in his recovery.

Ledbury Flyer Grasstrack, Sparrington Farm, Pencomb.


250cc Solo 1st Luke Harris, 2nd David Knowles, 3rd Trevor Clarricoats, 4th Tim Greig, 5th Max Brown, 6th Barry Jukes

350cc Solo 1st Andy Mellish, 2nd Dave Mears, 3rd Tommy Crewe, 4th Simon Phillips, 5th Connor Locke, 6th Laurence Barber,

500cc Solo 1st Ben Millichap, 2nd Josh Dingle, 3rd Daniel Winterton, 4th Tim Nobes, 5th Jason Newitt, 6th Rob Finlow

Pre 75 1st Rob Fortune, 2nd Gerald Short, 3rd Roger Taylor, 4th Derren Harris, 5th Eddie Rouse, 6th Phil Spencer

Uprights 1st Nathan Morton, 2nd Tim Curnock, 3rd Andy Gomm, 4th Gerald Short, 5th Robert Morgan, 6th Luke Tuck

500cc Sidecar 1st Mitch Godden/Paul Smith, 2nd Barrie Bennett/Eifion Hughes, 3rd Dave Carvill/Kai Noble, 4th Scott Dunn/Scott Goodwin, 5th Colin Harris/Taylor Harris,

1000cc Sidecar 1st Mark Cossar/Carl Blyth, 2nd Myles Simmons/Kevin Woodley, 3rd Colin Blackbourn/Carl Pugh, 4th Paul Whitelam/Allan Elliott, 5th Peter Lloyd/Fraser Sutherland, 6th Simon Heal/Jay Perkins